Skip to main content
The plaque affixed to the facade erroneously remembers that the famous Foligno-born architect Giuseppe Piermarini (1734-1808) author, among many, of the project for the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, was born here. Though Piermarini was actually born in a house that no longer exists and once stood in the agglomeration in front of the building, it is certainly here that he died. The building was built in the early nineteenth century by incorporating pre-existing architectural structures. Inside it preserves decorations by Francesco Bottazzi. Over the Renaissance portal the unique inscription “Non nobis Domine non nobis” stands out, which is the initial part of the Templar motto: “non nobis Domine, non nobis, sed nomini tuo da gloriam”.