Skip to main content
Located in the ancient Orfini palace, the Museum of Printing is the custodian of the history and artifacts of Foligno’s publishing and printing activity from the fifteenth century to today. The late fifteenth-century palace was the ancient home of the Orfini rich papal minter family and seat of the city’s printing shop. The museum is accessed through a doorway with the motto “Laborandum ut quiescas” (Only after work one may rest) carved on the jamb. Gutenberg’s pupil Johannes Numeister worked here, and the first printed copy of Dante Alighieri's Divine Comedy was published here in 1472. The museum is divided into four sections: the Hall of the incunabula where watermarks, matrices and rare prototypographic editions are exhibited, the Hall of civic forum showcasing epithalamus, writings for monacations and periodicals published in Foligno, the Hall of the Lunars where almanacs and lunar calendars including the famous Barbanera are exhibited, and the Hall of typographers active in Foligno between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. Opening 1 November to 31 March 1st, 2nd and 3rd Sundays of the month plus public holidays 10.00 - 13.00 and 16.00 - 19.00 1 April to 31 October Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays 10 a.m. - 1 p.m. and 4 p.m. - 7 p.m. Prices Full 5,00€ - Reduced 3,00€